AdU library celebrates 82nd National Book Week

Date Posted: January 23, 2017 at 10:04 AM

          Adamson University’s Library Services Department conducted various activities last November 14-18, 2016 aimed at promoting and encouraging the academic community the love for reading and inform the university community of the library’s resources, services and facilities. All these were the university’s way of celebrating and supporting the 82nd National Book Week, which had for its theme Today’s Readers: Inclusivity in Diversity. The lineup of diverse activities that included contests ensured a wide participation by college and Basic Education Department (BED) students. 

The opening ceremonies held at the ST Quadrangle on the first day got the weeklong celebration rolling. Ms. Yolanda C. Granda, chairman of Board for Librarians of the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC), graced the opening program and delivered an inspirational message. Among the administrators present were Dr. Carl Miniano, dean of the College of Business Administration, who also gave the welcome remarks; Dr. Servillano T. Marquez, Jr., dean of the Graduate School; Dr. Florante C. Garcia, officer-in-charge of the College of Education and Liberal Arts; Dr. Liria C. Dacanay, dean of the College of Science; Dr. Gliceria C. Lunag, director of the Institute for Religious Education; Mr. Danilo E. Escandor, chairperson of the Languages Department; some faculty, library staff and Senior High School students also attended. Mr. Richmond S. Yap, director of the Center for Guidance, Counseling, Placement and Testing Services hosted the program.

The launching of the weeklong Book Fair at the same venue and at the BED’s JP Quadrangle followed. Sixteen book exhibitors participated. Also opened was the Book Exhibit featuring Popular Books That Were Made Into Movies at the Library Extension Room. It was open to all users for browsing and reading.

Other activities included Storytelling, Amazing Book Hunting Race, Interactive Storytelling Contest, Movie Freak-out Challenge and BookFace Photo Contest.  The storytelling session was held at the Elementary Library with Nursery and Kinder I pupils and their advisers Ms. Ma. Corazon Andaya and Ms. Christina Dabiano, who were helped by five student-teachers from the College of Education. This year’s invited storyteller, Ms. Melanie A. Ramirez, the head librarian of the children’s section of the National Library of the Philippines, is also a professional storyteller and puppeteer.

A four-day training session on the use of electronic resources taught students the appropriate use of those available in the library for their research needs. A seminar-workshop on The Art of Storytelling was also conducted on November 17 at the OZ AVR. Mr. Luisito “Kuya Bodjie” F. Pascua of Batibot fame was the resource speaker. Teachers, librarians and students from different schools, colleges and universities attended.

            A thanksgiving mass officiated by Fr. William Azul D. Encelan, C.M. at the OZ- AVR marked the end of the week. The awarding ceremonies followed, with Fr. Marcelo V. Manimtim, C.M., university president, present to give an inspirational message. The most frequent library borrowers and the contest winners received awards and recognition. Certificates of appreciation were handed to resource speakers and book exhibitors. Reuss Aleister Lunar, a Grade 6-St. Lorenzo Ruiz pupil, rendered a special performance during the culminating program, which was hosted by Mr. Joel Amilhasan M. Paguirigan, Jr., head of the Center for Language Learning (CLL).

            The Most Frequent Borrower awardees were Daniel Christian G. Pascua (Elementary), Kacy-Niña Beatrice B. Acenas  (High School), Jean Claude S. Mallari  (College), Bogor Lumbanraja (Graduate School) Rene Steve A. Garbo (College of Law) for the Student Category; Dr. Neliza C. Casela, of the Languages Department for the Faculty Category; Celso V. Mangaoil, Jr., Guidance Counselor, Guidance Office for the Employee Category; Engr. Nestley I. Sore, Chairperson, Industrial Engineering Department for the Administrator Category. 

            The winners in The Amazing Book Hunting Race were Kiarra Leigh Gabrielle G. Fufugal, Joshua C. Cortel and Chloe Angela T. Peñaflor (Grade 7-St. Patrick), 1st Place; Gian Andrei DL Yumul, Christine Faye C. Collado and Patricia O. Santos (Grade 10-St. Vincent De Paul), 2nd Place; Donne Alilei B. Carmona, Xyrill Anne S. De Juan and Shawn Russell A. Valerio (Grade 8 – St. John), 3rd Place. For the Interactive Storytelling Contest, the winners were Carl Chloe Nicole B. Mangaoil (Grade 4- St. Anthony), 1st Place; Danielle V. Mergal (Grade 5-St. Elizabeth), 2nd Place; Wenzell Carl B. Munoz (Grade 6-St. Lorenzo Ruiz), 3rd Place. For the Movie Freak Out Challenge, the winner was Glennmark S. Mongis and Adrian Cedrieck M. Azucena (Finance & Economics Department). In the BookFace Photo Contest, the winners were Jhierlie Drew M. Genoso (Grade 6-St. Bernadette), Elementary Category; Jan Angelo Faustin S. Rosales (Grade 11-ABM2), High School Category; and, Allen Nicole P. Bagaporo (IT & M Department), College Category.

            Ms. Helen C. De Castro, director of Library Services concluded the program with an expression of thanks to those who supported the celebration while at the same time looking optimistically forward to next year’s National Book Week (NBW).

            NBW is a national observance and is a major event of libraries across the country. Governor-General Frank Murphy started it when he declared on June 6, 1934, through Proclamation 696, that National Book Week be observed from June 18-24. President Manuel L. Quezon signed Proclamation No. 109, s. 1936, moving the NBW date to November 24-30.

            The AdU Library’s NBW celebration proved to be a huge success thanks to the hard work of the library staff. Taking the lead was this year’s NBW Committee composed of Ms. Judeelyn S. Bundoc, chair; Ms. Helen Soriano, vice-chair; Ms. Ma. Elvira Pineda, ex-officio.  Providing guidance were Ms. Helen C. de Castro, director of Library Services and Ms. Helen A. Ordoñez, head of Readers’ Services. The BED, different colleges and departments and the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs gave significant contributions. Judeelyn S. Bundoc

More News

See Archive

Featured News